



[An Autonomous Institution | Affiliated to Anna University and Approved by AICTE | Accredited by NAAC – UGC with 'A' Grade]



KOVAIPUDUR, COIMBATORE - 641042, INDIA

info@skct.edu.in | www.skct.edu.in

Ph:+91 422 2604567 to 70 | Fax: +91 422 2607152

## **Criterion VI – Governance, Leadership and management**

## 6.1.2 The institution practices decentralization and participative management

Case study: Practicing decentralisation and participative management

## **Curriculum Development**

Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) has been introduced which gives students a flexible academic environment to choose subjects in their area of specialization with more interdisciplinary. The institution follows Outcome Based Education (OBE) instruction model where every activity of the students are measured through outcomes. The development process of curriculum is briefly explained below:

A curriculum development cell comprising the Head of the department, two to three senior faculty members, an alumnus and an industry expert is constituted in each department. The team with the inputs from the stake holders makes systematic decisions on the intended outcomes, contents, methods and evaluation strategies of the curriculum while ensuring that the curriculum and the syllabi meet the AICTE and NBA norms, industrial expectations and are in alignment with the Anna university curriculum. Recent texts and reference books are also used to frame the contents of the syllabi.

With the inputs from the curriculum development team, brain storming sessions are conducted with all the department faculty to draft a rough curriculum. The draft is developed, evaluated and tested against the curriculum of leading universities of international standards and fine-tuned.

The curriculum is presented before the Board of Studies, comprising

- 1. Professors and Head of the respective Departments
- 2. Internal Faculty Members
- 3. Two Experts from other leading institutions.
- 4. One representative from industry / corporate sector / allied area.
- 5. One post-graduate meritorious alumnus, nominated by the principal.

After the BOS meeting, the curriculum is finalised and presented to the standing committee of the academic council. Further fine tuning of syllabus if necessary, is made by the standing committee, constituted of,

- 1. The Principal
- 2. Eminent Academicians
- 3. Eminent Public Personalities
- 4. Heads of the Departments
- 5. Senior faculty representatives
- 6. Meritorious Alumni

As the final step, in the curriculum development process, governing body meeting is held, where the syllabus is approved. Governing Body is constituted of,

- 1. Chairman
- 2. Members from the trust
- 3. AICTE Nominee
- 4. An Industrialist / Technologist / Educationalist / from the Region nominated by the Regional Committee
- 5. University Nominee
- 6. State Government Nominee Director of Technical Education (Ex-Officio)

7. An Industrialist / Technologist / Educationalist / from the Region nominated by the State Govt.,

Member Secretary / Principal / Director of the concerned Institution

8. Faculty member 1 from the Institution at Professor Level

9. Faculty member 2 from the Institution at Assistant Professor Level.

The Governing body is the final authority to approve syllabus. The approved syllabus is published in the website.

